the good and the bad

<!-- Invalid wp shortcode URL --> fts615At first, it looked like an ordinary marble, but it was far from it. 

It had been a musty summer, thick with choking dust storms that threatened the welfare of our agrarian community. I had been as bored as ever, traipsing through dehydrated farmland until I happened to spot something small and glittery. I pocketed the marble, and that was it.

Except, it wasn’t. I had fallen asleep near the forest one afternoon and awoke to a particularly threatening dust storm. Yet as I fled to our family’s farmhouse, the curtain of dust parted and left me clean and unharmed. I never seemed to get sick any more either, but maybe that was simply coincidence. The marble became my good-luck charm. I was safe from everything, everything but the marble.


Word count: 116. For this week’s Finish-the-Story.

Part 2 here: “impending evil

✪ Angie

25 thoughts on “the good and the bad

  1. I really enjoyed this little story. Made me think of: One Marble to rule them all, One Marble to find them, One Marble to bring them all and in the darkness bind them… 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a great last line! I enjoyed the story, and could really visualize that dust storm parting. I enjoyed the story Angie. Thank you for writing again for the MFtS challenge. Be well… ^..^

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think? ✪

