✞ – 1 timothy 1:15

5-17-15

Consider these two contrasting yet congruent beliefs:

1) “I do this wrong, I do that wrong. I am utter trash.”

It’s easy to hate yourself, but it’s important to recognize all the good things about you. You were made in God’s image. You are not a mistake, as much as you may wish to believe so. As Timothy writes in 1 Timothy 1:15, Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners- of whom I am the worst. Even the most deplorable villain can be saved; you can be forgiven too.

2) “That person does this wrong, they do that wrong. They’re utter trash.”

I will be the first to admit that I judge others on their mistakes and faults. It usually isn’t out of a religious context, but either way, I’m assuming a false sense of holiness. No one is better or worse human being than you, no matter what they have or have not done. All God sees is your sin- sin that can be forgiven.

7f7e5e8b15c4cbd27e57ecede973ce49

Stole this off the ‘net. But I think it illustrates my points well.

It’s very popular to judge others on the “severity” of their sinfulness, but at the end of the day, we’re all sinners. So if you take anything away from this post, let it be this:

Everyone is equal. 

Which means two things:

  1. You are just as good as anyone else. So don’t hate yourself. Jesus is not exclusive; he died for all sinners. He died for you.
  2. No one is worse than you. So don’t judge them when you yourself are stained with your own sins.

And, so yeah. That’s all I have for today. Sorry for the possibly preachy tone (I’m new to this, although I suppose that’s not a viable excuse). God bless~


For “Word of God Sunday“. Art by Leon Detroy “Landscape of Agay”. 

✪ Angie

2 thoughts on “✞ – 1 timothy 1:15

  1. I like the illustration! Praise God that when we have placed our faith in the death, burial and resurrection of His Son as the only Way to Heaven, He no longer sees our sin, but only the perfect righteousness of His Son! Linked up with you at Words of Comfort — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace foe a visit! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s a painting by Impressionist painter Leon Detroy! (Or perhaps you are referring to the second one? Either way, both are nice) God bless! I’ll drop by. ✪

      Like

What did you think? ✪

